Branches And Wings – Chapter One (Audio)

Moon-through-elm-tree-boughs-LafayettePark-WashingtonDC-29Sept2012I’d originally intended this to be a bit of shameless self-promotion. Which it still is. However, I found the process of creating an audio version of the first chapter of my novel useful as an editing tool. I realized that, if I can’t speak it so it flows, if it has no variation and rhythm and pace, something’s wrong. And through the process of reading it outloud—as a performance—I found that not just the problems became obvious, but the solutions, too. I recommend this for every writer. Read your stuff outloud. But not just as a way of looking for errors. Do it for real. As a performance. Record it. Listen to it back. Would you like it to sound this way as an audiobook? Why? Why not?

Anyway, so … here’s Chapter 1 of what is called, for now, Branches And Wings. I consider this chapter done. It’s in its final form, and little will be changed between now and when I send the completed novel off to agents or publishers. I’m nearing the end of the penultimate draft, clocking in about 1500 – 1800 words a day, and working on the the final draft at a pace of about 500 words a week. Bit by bit, as I finish new chapters on the final draft, I will release them as audio versions. But not often. No faster than about every month and a half at first, until I really get in the swing of that precious Final Draft.

Enjoy.

Branches and Wings – Chapter 1

harvest-moon

Posted on March 6, 2013, in Audiobooks, Shameless Self-Promotion. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Bride of the Book God

Comfortable with ambiguity

Susan Van Kirk

Author of Endurance Mysteries

This Is Horror

The Voice of Horror

theDarkCircle

Take a walk into the darker side.

Sarah Pinborough

Random musings on the world from someone work avoiding.

The Stacked Shelf

All things to do with books.

BookCunt

Musings and Reviews by Richard Kellum

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Anne Lyle's Blog

Musings and Reviews by Richard Kellum

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

